A Sign That Your City May Have a Homeless Problem

POSTED BY: Bowzer

10 responses to “A Sign That Your City May Have a Homeless Problem

  1. What makes you think this is specifically addressed toward the “homeless”? If you live within a mile of a major sports stadium, for example, the well-heeled patrons of those venues frequently stop to relieve themselves of all their beer after the ball game wherever they can get away with it. Ever think of that?

    No.

    But you chose instead to beat up on the voiceless. Nice.

  2. Lol @ QuakerDave.. why do people always take things so personal?

  3. I’m willing to bet all those beer addled patrons of sports venues would have much more acidic urine as well…

  4. @QuakerDave: The closest sports stadium is a college basketball arena or a college football stadium, and both are on the other side of the city. However, the sign is really close to where all the homeless people sleep.

  5. Abby: Know anyone who has ever lived on the street? Spent any time working in a soup kitchen?

    “LOL” from your cloistered, sheltered, protected, safe world. It’s easy.

    Or come out and join the rest of us in the real one. Someday that sign could be directed at you, but for the grace of God.

    Namaste.

  6. PutUpYourDukes

    @ QuakerDave: welcome to the party! let’s be careful now…we’re all here to have a good time. have a sense of humor 🙂

  7. @ QuakerDave : Since you’re obviously homeless with your laptop and wireless internet reading WordPress blogs.

    And if you were homeless at one time, it shows that anyone who is homeless can someday get a job and move off the street.

    Wee!

  8. Who the hell is quaker dave??

    Is he like an actual quaker??

    He’s probably from Harrisonburg.

  9. @QuackerDave – I think I have the right to explain to you that homeless people are not ‘voiceless’. In many cases, homelessness is a choice. Here’s where my credibility comes into play:

    I grew up in an upscale, rich neighborhood. My dad was a prominent business owner, and my mother was a psychiatrist. Money was no object as I was growing up. When I was 12, I grew an interest in computers and started learning more and more about networks, cables, routers, and switches. I thought it was amazingly interesting. Fast forward 7 years. During my life of luxury, I hung out a lot in the downtown area of Sacramento, California. I went to the nightclubs, had a lot of friends, and an amazing career with Apple.

    I was out one night with a few friends and as we were walking down the street, there was a homeless man that asked me for change and as I started reaching into my pocket my buddy blurted out ‘fuck off’ to him. I look at him, give him $20 and told my friend that humans are humans and should ALL be treated the exact same way. That their status does not, in no way, represent their intelligence, or worth. We’re all equal, whether homeless or live in a 6 bedroom house.

    He explains to me that despite them being homeless, they are choosing to live that life. Whether their biggest fault is drugs, or just lack of motivation for a better life, it is their fault for wanting change (just not the right kind of change).

    I had no argument against that, so we went along our ways.

    This entire scene bothered me for MONTHS to come. The idea of me coming home, and falling asleep in a giant bed – while he’s out there sitting in the street, or sleeping in an alley.

    That night, I put up a giant poster of the U.S. on my wall. I blind folded myself, and threw a dart at the map. The dart landed in Lake Superior. What was the closest biggest city right on that lake? Duluth, Minnesota.

    I had a 2001 Toyota Corolla, which I sold for $900 that paid for my plane ticket out to Duluth. I brought with myself a pair of shorts, a couple tshirts, a sweater, a pack of cigarettes, and a baseball cap. In order for me to actually get on the plane, I had to bring my ID with me. Once I landed in Duluth, I immediately melted my ID and threw it away. I was officially homeless. I didn’t know anyone in town, I had no form of identification. My social security card was left at home and I set forth on my adventure of being in the same shoes that the homeless man was. Except this time, in a much harsher environment.

    I remained in that state for over a year, while being only unemployed and officially “homeless” for about 10 months. The nights were spent either in the street, or at a Denny’s or Perkins.

    My mornings were spent at a truck stop, where I would conduct my three S’s (Shit, shower and shave). After the truck stop, I walked over to the local public library, and started looking for newspapers that were (somewhat) up-to-date so I can look for assistance in getting my identity back. Once I get that back, I can start applying for jobs. In the time that I’ve been in Duluth, I met a few great people and even got me a girly friend. This experience was truly epic.

    After weeks of searching, and trying to find proof of who I was – I was finally identified, and was sent my Social Security card and birth certificate. Excellent. Now I can go to the DMV and get an identification card for Minnesota — and start searching for employment.

    Low-and-behold after getting my ID card from the DMV, I started looking for work. My first job was working at a Taco Johns, down on London Rd along the 35. While working there for a few months, I continued looking for better jobs (because making taco’s wasn’t really an ideal career choice – but it was slowly starting to make ends meet).

    After months of searching for something better, I was offered a position with CellularOne (Dobson Communications) in their First Save division. $14/hr, plus commission and bonus’s. I could finally move out of that bedroom I was renting for $150 per month.

    I accepted the position, and soon came to realize that the position I accepted (even though it was paying $14/hr) is actually paying me about $4k/mo when you include bonus’s and commission.

    My mission was complete. I had money to rent out a house, buy groceries, and within a few months also bought a beater-car.

    All this, took me 1 year and 4 months and everything is completely detailed in my written journal of my experiences.

    I also have references for you if you want to do some fact-checking. For one, my employer at the time. Two, I have pictures and video of me (that some of my friends took while we were downtown).

    Oh, and that homeless guy that I was talking about originally at the beginning of this post? I was happily surprised a couple weeks ago when I saw him on Intervention.

    Here are the links to some of the clips from the show:

    The point of my story was that I decided to experience the life of what they go through. I have written about it, and seen it, lived it, and got out of it.

    All it took was will-power.

Leave a Reply

